Gemma Fox


Job Role at EMG

I am a Paralegal in the Court of Protection department. I joined EMG on 9th January 2023. This will be varied role including tasks like instructing Law Costs Draftsmen and filing bills and bundles of documents with HM Courts and Tribunals Service.


I left college and decided to try my hand at a apprenticeship in Business administration. I was placed at a small Solicitor’s office in Spennymoor and gradually learnt all about being a legal secretary. From here, I gained full time employment as a legal secretary firstly at a leading firm in Newcastle. I mainly worked within the family department but moved to conveyancing. I gained a wealth of knowledge here and after being made redundant I moved on to pastures new again, as PA to the head of conveyancing. I left here to become a first time mum to my now 10 year old son. When my son was two years old I gradually became involved with the hospitality industry and after having my second son in 2019 I became self employed with my own public house. Sadly, covid hit and found that the industry just wasn’t recovering at a rate which was sustainable. My heart has always been in Law and made the decision to return to secretarial work. I spent a short time back in conveyancing but seen EMG were advertising for this role and figured why not try something completely new!

What do you like about working at EMG?

Every single person at EMG is so friendly. From coming for interview to the support I have received in learning my new role has been amazing. The minute I started on my first day I was made to feel so welcome. Despite everyone having such busy workloads, nothing is too much trouble. There is such an amazing vibe to the whole office and it is clear to see that everyone truly loves what they do and the client comes first and foremost. I love how involved the company is with the community and charities. I feel proud to be a part of such a fantastic firm where everyone genuinely wants to see you do well and succeed.

Outside of EMG?

I spend my free time with my husband and two boys who are now aged 10 and 3. They both love being outdoors (and find it helps them burn some energy!) They both love a good trampoline park and bowling too. When we are at home My 10 year old enjoys gaming and my 3 year old loves to paint and colour so this gives me some time to do what I enjoy and cook meals and attempt baking (not always successfully!) After the covid restrictions I vowed I would never take time with family and friends for granted and so, on rare occasions, my husband and I enjoy going out for a meal and catching up with friends.